5 pillars of Islam Essay

This essay has a total of 444 words and 2 pages.

5 pillars of Islam

The worship of Allah is principal in a Muslim's mind at all time. There are also five
formal acts of worship which help strengthen a the faith and obedience of a Muslim. They
are frequently called the "Five Pillars of Islam". The Five Pillars of Islam are the
framework and guidelines of the Muslim life. They are the testimony of faith, prayer,
supporting the needy, fasting during the month of Ramadan, and the once in a lifetime trip
to Makkah for those who are able to do so. These Five Pillars are the thing Muslim's do to
please God and to keep themselves well and happy in this lifetime and for the future ones
to come. It was Prophet Muhammad, the founder of Islam, who was reported to have said,
"Islam is based upon five pillars".

One of the five pillars is Shahadataan or Kalima. This is the declaration or testimony of
faith. The declaration itself is very simple and it goes as follows: "I bear witness that
there is no deity but Allah, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His servant and
messenger." Islam is based on faith and the Unity of God. When one agrees with this
statement, they are testifying upon the Unity of Allah and the message of Prophethood.
When one witnesses the statement that Muhammad is His messenger, one is verifying that all
the prophets before him were also His messengers showing that Allah is one and His message
is one. When one declares this statement with their purity of heat and conviction of
faith, they are then Muslim.

Continues for 1 more page >>