The Eye of the World

This essay has a total of 862 words and 4 pages.

The Eye of the World

The Eye of the World is the first book of the "The Wheel of Time" series which is already
on its tenth book. Robert Jordan has followed the footsteps of J.R.R. Tolkien. Here he
dominated the magical world that Tolkien had revealed in his "Lord of the Rings".

For us to understand this book clearly, an introduction is needed. It says that the
so-called wheel of time is a wheel that rotates as time passes. Because of this wheel,
ages come and go, leaving memories that become legend. Sometimes legends fades into myth
which is long forgotten when the age that left it returns again. But the Aes Sedai
remember what men forget. The Aes Sedai are those chosen individuals that can channel to
the True Source. This True Source is the source of power. The male Sedai channel to the
Saidin form of the source while the women channel to the Saidir form of the source. But
due to a war very long ago, Saidin was tainted by the dark forces resulting for the men to
go crazy or die if they channel. This is why only female Sedai are in the book. A champion
of the war, Lews Therin Telamon ( the Dragon), trapped the Forsaken (Aes Sedai who went to
the dark side) and Shaitan (Drak One) but became crazy. After his death, it was
prophesized that a Dragon Reborn would be born and lead the forces of light.

The first book narrates the adventure of three boys, namely Rand Al'Thor, Matrim Cauthon,
and Perrin Aybara. Strangers have come to the Two Rivers during the Bel Tine holiday, and
the three boys are all happy to live in peace with their families. With the mysterious
travelers come strange stories of war and of a man named Logain, who claims to be the
Dragon Reborn, the one prophesized to save the world, and also to destroy it in his
madness. On the night before Bel Tine, Trollocs come and ransack the village where the
young men live. Together with the mysterious Moiraine, an Aes Sedai, and Lan, a warder,
the young men escape with a few other companions into the night and make their way toward
Tar Valon, the city of the Aes Sedai. Dangers, such as Darkfriends, appear from many
corners. Because of this, it becomes difficult to know who to trust. The boys can't escape
the Dark One easily, for not only do his minions relentlessly pursue them, the Dark One
even invades their dreams. This adventure leads across the land from Two Rivers to the
walled city of Baerlon; through the abandoned city of Shadar Logoth, where evil forces
split the group, to the royal capital of Caemlyn where they meet again. Then, via the
ancient, dangerous Ways to the Blight, they found their way to The Eye of the World. At
the end, the group managed to win over the Dark One's minions, but this is not the final
battle. It is still nowhere to be found.

I was looking for a book to read during a summer vacation when my brother recommended this
series to me and I'm so glad that he did this for since I started reading this book, I've
been addicted to it. Robert Jordan has a really good way of letting his readers to be
stuck to what he writes. This book is really an example of how a starting novel for a long
series like The Wheel of Time should be. The characters are larger than life and written
Continues for 2 more pages >>